+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 10 Micron vs 20 Micron filter

Thanks

Default 10 Micron vs 20 Micron filter

Is a 10 micron a "finer" filter than a 20 Micron, meaning a 10 filters smaller particles? which is the preferred filter? I have a 2006 Yamaha 4 stroke, 90 HP.
    2006 1980 DLV
    90 Yamaha

Thanks
    Thanked 3,493 Times in 1,939 Posts

Default yes 10 micron is smaller than 20

10 micron is smaller and what is recommended by most manufacturer !
    WV 08 DLV198 HONDA 115
    OBX 99 C-HAWK 13 YAMAHA 150

Thanks

"What is a Micron?" Well, here is the answer:

A micron, short for micrometer, is a unit of measurement equal to one millionth of a meter. A micron is actually 0.000039 of an inch.

I borrowed this from some site.

I'm not an expert but this is how I interpret things for add on filters.

2 micron filters. Used mostly for diesel engines, because of the injection system, if it is the only filter in the system. Also for injected gas engines if it is the only filter. These constrict fuel flow a lot.

10 microns. Best at trapping water in the fuel. Catch most particles that could clog injectors. Trap anything that could possibly clog a carb. Not much restriction to fuel flow but enough to keep in mind when you size the filter.

20 microns. Very little restriction. OK at stopping water and chunks of debris. Probably best for a carb engine waste of time on an injected engine unless the fuel system has a good built in filter.

Thanks

Ditto on bklake.

I found good info from:

http://www.teleflexmarine.com/produc.../fuel-filters/

And use a 10 micron Sierra kit w/o collection bowl for our Yamaha 90TLRD two stroke:

http://www.carolinaskiffowner.com/at...achmentid=8180
    DLX 2180 Yam 90 TLR

Thanks

Great info, thanks a bunch.
    2006 1980 DLV
    90 Yamaha

Thanks